Jazz in Vaasa 1971 – epilogue 2012


November last year I published some pictures I had taken at the Vaasa Youth Festival summer 1971. This triggered some interesting responses.

  • The blog and pictures have been viewed about 7 000 times by today. The picture below has been clicked most often.

Dexter Gordon (sax) in Vaasa, Finland 1971, with Eero Ojanen (p), Pekka Sarmanto (b) and Esko Rosnell (d)

  • Facebook group dedicated to Vaasa Youth Festival found this blog. – I joined the group.
  • Sax on the Web promoted the blog by keeping Dexter Gordon’s picture on the front page for several weeks, creating good traffic to the blog. – Thanks Harri.
  • Jeroen, an admirer of Dexter Gordon from the Netherlands asked if he could get a copy of one of Dexter’s pictures. – Deal made.

    Jeroen, a happy owner of the picture of Dexter Gordon

  • I met guitarist Ilpo Saastamoinen in one seminar in Helsinki last December. – He got prints of his pictures.

    Ilpo Saastamoinen in December 2011 and June 1971

  • SaxophonistEero Koivistoinen played in a concert in Helsinki last January. – He got prints of his pictures after the gig.

    Eero Koivistoinen in January 2012 and June 1971

  • I’ve been in contact with Martha Gaber (living now in Denmark), who sang and played lute. She sent me a nice piece of history information: “The poncho (which I naturally made myself) has long since gone to the Salvation Army, but the lute is still with me. Later I bought a guitar for my work as a Sotilaskotisisar, when I was taken all kinds of strange places in jeeps and boats to sing to the boys.” – Hope to meet you Martha one day in Denmark, and give you too some prints.
  • One eager jazz music lover in Far East has made a YouTube video using my pictures at the background for Eero Koivistoinen’s recording “For Children”. – Should I be proud or irritated?
  • Today I got a mail, a very interesting one for two reasons. Firstly, the girl sitting next to Dexter Gordon in this picture has been identified! Secondly, I learned to know Seppo Lemponen, who was helping Dexter during his visit in Vaasa. He has written a super nice story (in Finnish) about three days (and nights) with “Nature Boy” Dexter. (Seppo has also written a doctor thesis titled “Swing to bop – hep to hip. A study in jazz parlance.”) – Thanks Seppo!

About Olli Laasanen

Eyes and ears open. New and old. Jobs and hobbies. Pictures and music. Entertaining and serious. Change and stability. Nature and urban.
This entry was posted in Country, Finland, Music, Photo, photography, Valokuvaus and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

