Circus Maximus, Rome (pano #26)


(I have promised not to post more panoramas, but now I have to. :))

In my last blog I made mistake, which I like to correct. When posting photographs, I like to add a link, some background information or a story in the same context. I falsely linked Roman chariot racing and Colosseum.

So now it is time to show the right place: Circus Maximus, or Circo Massimo in Italy. [I should copy the text from the previous blog about Ben-Hur and horse race arena, but maybe you can read it there.]

Just try to think how wild it has been, when two or four-horse, even ten-horse chariots have been rushing around the circus. A good descriptions about the dangers of this sport is here.

(Click → larger)

Circus Maximus, Rome, seen from the west-south end, 26 March 2011.
(8 images, Canon 7D & Sigma 17-70)

Circus Maximus, Rome, seen from the middle, 26 March 2011.
(6 images, Canon 7D & Sigma 17-70)

About Olli Laasanen

Eyes and ears open. New and old. Jobs and hobbies. Pictures and music. Entertaining and serious. Change and stability. Nature and urban.
This entry was posted in Country, Italy, Photo, photography, Travel, Valokuvaus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Circus Maximus, Rome (pano #26)

  1. rigbyte says:

    How interesting! It looks exactly the same except it is much more open now than in 1966, and the waist-high shrubs all along the middle [in which we slept] have gone, along with the prostitutes, I suppose. Excellent shots, it’s a pity we can’t straighten the apparent curve in the track. I wonder if they still use it for marshalling their military vehicles for street parades. Thanks for this. I travelled then with no camera, so the memory fails at times. I didn’t realise we could see the Palatine Hill so clearly… or Is that not what it is?

  2. Yes Rigby, that is Palatine Hill behind. – I have downloaded your book Dancing Bare (iPad version http://bit.ly/PWcneo), hoping to find a longer description about that hilarious experience you had on Circus Maximus, but could not find it. (The search function of ebooks is really neat.) I haven’t yet read the book, so maybe it is there …

    • rigbyte says:

      Oh dear – I’m blushing. Please don’t be shocked if you read it. Sleeping in the Circus Maximus happened the year after the book finishes – I was travelling with the fellow I met in the last chapter.

Leave a Reply

