Kafka’s Castle during holiday season


“It was late in the evening when K. arrived. The village was deep in snow. The Castle hill was hidden, veiled in mist and darkness, nor was there even a glimmer of light to show that a castle was there.”

(What does that mean?)
20121206-G15-0514-2

Tallinn, Estonia, December 2012

About Olli Laasanen

Eyes and ears open. New and old. Jobs and hobbies. Pictures and music. Entertaining and serious. Change and stability. Nature and urban.
This entry was posted in Artsy, Estonia, Fun, Photo, photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kafka’s Castle during holiday season

  1. ajaytao2010 says:

    Beautiful

    Thanks. I invite you to visit my blog Ajaytao2010@wordpress.com

  2. Anonymous says:

    I’m a fan of Kafka. His letters to Milena Jesenska have been useful to me. Metamorphosis is my favourite. I wasn’t aware he lived in a castle? Or is this supposed to be the castle depicted in his story? I’d always imagined it to be somewhere in the Czech republic. An excellent photo, spoiled [for me] by the red tree and the road sign.

    I’m not anonymous, I’m Rigby, [as you probably guess from the opinionated comment]… your site didn’t recognise me.

    • Welcome back, Rigby!

      Isn’t the Castle really and only in our (and Kafka’s) imagination?😉 I didn’t have the intention to give my detailed interpretation of this picture, but let’s play!🙂

      The building – castle – could be anywhere, I just liked the mental connection to Kafka’s novel. The road sign strengthens the difficulties K. (the protagonist) had when trying to enter the castle. The building does not have lights in a single window, creating an uneasy feeling of an unfriendly place. The tree in christmas lights creates the contrast (as I indicated in the title of the post), easing the pressuring atmosphere of the novel, and linking the blog post to the ongoing holiday season.

      • rigbyte says:

        Ah! Yes! I like that, the increasing complexity of our road systems and the contrast of the light and fun of the tree with the forbidding dark fortress… You’ve sold it to me.

Leave a Reply

