Meeting Pat Metheny


I wrote about Pat Metheny and his guitar, when he was in Pori Jazz 1974 with Gary Burton.

Now, during his second visit in Finland last Monday, he had several, clearly much better guitars than 40 years ago. The concert in Helsinki’s Finlandia Hall was simply great. Pat was on the stage for 2.5 hours with no break. He proved to be one of the greatest jazz guitarists of today. We thanked him and his Unity Group with several standing ovations.

The band use some uncommon instruments like automated vibraphone.

The band used some uncommon instruments like automated vibraphone.

Photographing was not allowed during the concert, so here are pictures just before and after the gig.

Unity Group from the left: Antonio Sanchez (dr), Pat Metheny (g), Chris Potter (sax), Ben Williams (b)

Unity Group from the left: Antonio Sánchez (dr), Pat Metheny (g), Chris Potter (sax), Ben Williams (b)

I was pleased to allowed to meet Pat Metheny (and the drummer Antonio Sánchez) after the concert. In the picture below he is holding the image I took of him 40 years ago in Pori Jazz. That triggered some interesting remembering about guitars, weather, dressing, Gary Burton, …

Pat Metheny, holding a picture of him taken 40 years ago, and Antonio Sanchez. (Helsinki, April 28, 2014)

Pat Metheny, holding a picture of him taken 40 years ago, and Antonio Sánchez. (Helsinki, April 28, 2014)

Thank you Pat Metheny and Unity Group.

About Olli Laasanen

Eyes and ears open. New and old. Jobs and hobbies. Pictures and music. Entertaining and serious. Change and stability. Nature and urban.
This entry was posted in Finland, Music, Photo, photography, Valokuvaus and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meeting Pat Metheny

  1. Ann Koplow says:

    I am so glad you followed my blog today, especially since you admire Pat Metheny and got to see and meet him recently. Pat has been my guitar hero since the 1970s. I’ve seen him in concert many times, most recently with the Unity Group in Boston last month. I met Pat many years ago but don’t have a photo of that. I DO have a photo of myself (and my old advertising agency partner) with Gary Burton, though, from the 90s. Anyway, thanks again for the follow, and I look forward to reading more about you here.

    • Ann, thanks for you comment and following my blog. – For me to see Pat in a live concert – and meet out of stage! – was really something exceptional. The tours of today’s jazz legends are not always reaching Finland. – I wish you all good with your life and daily blog.

  2. jazzyoutoo says:

    this is a superband to say the least, awesome musicians, the very best, the cream ofthe crop!

  3. jazzyoutoo says:

    I enjoyed this interview with Antonio Sanchez – I love his sense of humour: https://jazzyoutoo.wordpress.com/2015/10/12/antonio-sanchez-interview/

Leave a Reply

