Hastings Pier (UK) 1978


Hastings pier in the south coast of England has seen a lot. It was built in 1872. It flourished during late Victorian era.  It was first time destroyed by fire in 1917. It’s prime time was in 1930’s. Rolling Stones had a gig there on 1964.  There was severe storm damages during 1990’s.  The fire destroyed in in 2010. It has not been rebuilt yet.

I took this picture in 1978, during a calm July day.

197807xx-Scan-140601-0002b

Edit 7 Feb: I had a typo in the original post. I took the picture 1978 (not 1987), now corrected.

About Olli Laasanen

Eyes and ears open. New and old. Jobs and hobbies. Pictures and music. Entertaining and serious. Change and stability. Nature and urban.
This entry was posted in Photo, photography, Travel, UK, Valokuvaus and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hastings Pier (UK) 1978

  1. Sabrina says:

    Great post, I’m impressed! Why did you feel like posting this almost 30 year old photo by now? I mean I love it, I’m just curious🙂

    • Thanks Sabrina! For me both travelling and photography are a continuity of the past, present and future. I once a while check my slide and negative archives, and scan some I like. When I post them in my blog, it is like linking this day to the past, and maybe give a reason to somebody to visit those places in the future.

Leave a Reply

