The smile


This is a picture I took during my random walk on the streets of Bangkok a while ago. The more often I look at it, the more I like it. Why? The look and smile. The colors. How devoted to their work the people seem to be. Hard work but work anyway.

About Olli Laasanen

Eyes and ears open. New and old. Jobs and hobbies. Pictures and music. Entertaining and serious. Change and stability. Nature and urban.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Photo, photography, Thailand, Travel, Valokuvaus and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The smile

  1. Rigby says:

    A subtle and beautiful photograph. The smile is one I’ve encountered from men and boys across North Africa and the Middle East, throughout South America, and the Eastern countries I’ve traveled through, but never from a European face. Why? Either our faces are unable to display innocent pleasure and smiles devoid of deceit, or our culture has decreed they are not manly. Or does it have to do with wealth? One of the most beautiful smiles I’ve received was from a Syrian water seller in Aleppo before Europe and U.S.A. invaded.Does a simple life-style make men appreciate what they have so they can smile? Does having too much prevent such openness?

    • I have similar experiences, Rigby. My guess is this has a lot to do with the Western culture and behaviour: smiling is not manly, you are less credible.

  2. And I almost missed that smile! He is a beautiful lad, isn’t he?

Leave a Reply

